CycleCloud ships with support for standard operating systems. You can specify the image with Image:

[[node defaults]]
Image = Cycle CentOS 6

You can also specify by ImageName:

[[node defaults]]
ImageName = cycle.image.win2012

Finally, you can always select a specific image by ImageId or ImageUrl:

[[node defaults]]
ImageId = ami-1234abcd

[[node defaults]]
ImageUrl = http://cloud-provider/path/to/custom-image

CycleCloud automatically uses the latest released version of the image for the cloud provider and region that the instance is in.


For AWS, CycleCloud picks the virtualization type (hvm or pvm) to match the instance type being used. Instance types that support both will default to hvm virtualization, unless you override it with AWS.Virtualization = pvm on your node.


If you are using a custom (non-standard) image that was created with Jetpack, you can set AwaitInstallation=true on the node, specifying that the image supports sending status messages back to CycleCloud. This will allow for more accurate representations of the node’s state within CycleCloud.

CycleCloud currently includes the following images:

Operating System Image Name Cloud Providers
CentOS 6* Cycle CentOS 6 cycle.image.centos6 AWS, AWS (GovCloud), Google Cloud
CentOS 7* Cycle CentOS 7 cycle.image.centos7 AWS, Google Cloud
Ubuntu 12.04** Cycle Ubuntu 12 cycle.image.ubuntu12 AWS, Azure (IaaS), Google Cloud
Ubuntu 14.04** Cycle Ubuntu 14 cycle.image.ubuntu14 AWS, Google Cloud
Windows 2008 R2** Cycle Windows 2008 cycle.image.win2008 AWS
Windows 2012 R2** Cycle Windows 2012 cycle.image.win2012 AWS, Azure (IaaS), Azure (PaaS)

: SR-IOV enabled on AWS. For more information, refer to the `AWS documentation <>`_.
: Compatible with AWS G2-class instance


Standard images referenced in CycleCloud are the latest known versions of publicly-available operating system images hosted by the cloud service provider and are not created, maintained, or supported by Cycle Computing.